Jack Worthington's Social & Investment Commentaries

No Time for Wallflowers…Re: The Surveillance State

Posted in Investment & Social Commentaries by Jack Worthington on June 17, 2013

I hate to admit it, but I took my Investment and Social Commentaries offline last year due to political considerations.  I sensed it was not a good time to be publicly against the Obama administration’s policies in light of my business dealings with the US federal gov’t…I didn’t trust this administration.  I was right, but I was wrong.  The multiple, recent affronts to our basic human freedom and historical American values cannot go unchallenged by responsible, freedom-loving citizens.  There are other, highly effective ways to ensure our national security.

“A monitored human being is not a free one.” Article from Germany’s Der Spiegel: “Obama’s Soft Totalitarianism: Europe Must Protect Itself From America” http://www.spiegel.de/international/world/europe-must-stand-up-to-american-cyber-snooping-a-906250.html . It would be difficult to create a more divisive political strategy, domestically and internationally, than the one driving the Obama administration. Regardless of how ally governments respond, the people in those countries will be / are disgusted, and the global fallout will be profoundly negative for the US. Like it or not, this article represents how many non-Americans think about the issue.

“…that man will be what he was born to be…free and independent”.

Given current events, this speech from the past is perhaps one of the most important for our future. Every American should listen to this speech.

“Even today, there is little value in insuring the survival of our nation if our traditions do not survive with it. And there is very grave danger that an announced need for increased security will be seized upon those anxious to expand its meaning to the very limits of official censorship and concealment…an excuse to censor the news, to stifle dissent, to cover up our mistakes or to withhold from the press and the public the facts they deserve to know.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhZk8ronces

This is no time for wallflowers…I’ll voice my opinion…damn the torpedos.  I guess I can now expect an IRS audit. What happened to my country?

